Syracuse and Georgetown capture first ACC & Big East tournament titles


Ben Polk provided the offense and the Orange defense kept Notre Dame off the scoreboard to bring the ACC tournament championship home to Syracuse for the first time on Sunday afternoon.

Polk, who scored both goals in Syracuse’s semifinal win over No. 2 Clemson, found the back of the net in the 47th minute and the Orange defense limited No. 9 Notre Dame to only two shots on goal. Julian Buescher had the assist on the decisive goal in front of 960 fans at Alumni Stadium in South Bend.

As the seventh seed, 13th-ranked Syracuse became the lowest seed to ever win an ACC tournament title and improved to 13-5-3 on the year. The conference championship was the first for Syracuse since 1985.

No. 3 Georgetown captured its first Big East tournament title in program history, completing an incredible run in conference play with a 2-1 overtime win over No. 5 Creighton at Shaw Field on Sunday afternoon.

Alex Muyl was the hero, delivering the game-winning goal in the 107th minute in front of a partisan crowd of 1,541. Timo Pitter opened the scoring with a 17th minute strike to give the Blue Jays a lead that was quickly erased by Brandon Allen’s 49th career goal three minutes later. The defenses held the rest of the way – Creighton goalkeeper Connor Sparrow had five saves and Hoya keeper JT Marcinkowski finished with three – to send the game into overtime.

The win was the Hoyas 13th in a row and extended their unbeaten streak to 16. Against Big East teams this season, Georgetown went 11-0-0. Their last loss was against Akron on September 4, five days after losing 2-0 to South Florida and settling for a scoreless draw against Florida Gulf Coast in their season opener.

Akron captures MAC double; Maryland wins Big Ten tourney

Junior Victor Souto provided the offense with a goal 30 seconds before halftime and the Akron defense did the rest to secure the 10th-ranked Zips’ 12th Mid-American Conference championship title with a 1-0 win over Buffalo in front of 1,335 home fans on Sunday.

Maryland made it two-for-two in Big Ten Tournament championship games with a 2-0 win over 12th-ranked Ohio State on their home turf Sunday afternoon. Freshman Eryk Williamson continued his late-season surge with a 10th minute goal and iced the game when he fired a shot that was deflected to Tsubasa Endoh for the rebounded goal in the 88th minute.

The Terps limited the regular season Big Ten champs to only a single shot on goal and captured their fourth-straight conference tournament title (they won the ACC tournament in 2012 and 2013) in front of 1,120 fans at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in Columbus.

Seattle wins WAC on PKs; Denver stays unbeaten, captures third-straight Summit League title

No. 15 Seattle came from behind and captured the WAC tournament on penalties over Utah Valley on Sunday. Down 1-0 on Alex Neff’s 64th minute free kick goal, Hamza Haddadi tied the game on a penalty kick in the 88th minute and Shane Haworth and the backline stopped a potential late winner from a Utah Valley corner just before the end of regulation.

Haddadi, a senior forward who also scored in the penalty shootout, had missed nine games to injury prior to the game but still is second on the team with nine goals for the year.

No. 8 Denver won its third-straight Summit League title and stayed unbeaten for the season with a 2-0 win over Oral Roberts on Saturday.

Karsten Hanlin scored in the 48th minute and Alex Underwood added an insurance goal in the 70th to lead the Pioneers to a 15-0-3 record.

Dayton beats VCU in lopsided Atlantic 10 final; Tulsa wins American Athletic on penalties

Dayton scored four or more goals in a game for the seventh time this year and captured their first A-10 Championship since 2009 with a 4-1 win over VCU.

Four different Flyers found the back of the net in the game, Kissima Bojang with his fifth of the year, Alex Amankwaaah with his second, Maik Schoonderwoerd with his 10th and Carlos Sendin with his fourth. Dakota Barnathan pulled one back for VCU in the 72nd minute.

Tulsa claimed its second straight American Athletic Conference Championship on penalties after a 1-1 draw with UConn in Tampa on Sunday afternoon.

UConn opened the scoring inside three minutes with a goal from Tyler Leeman, but Miguel Velasquez tied it up in the 42nd minute and the defenses – UConn’s more than Tulsa’s – held on through regulation and two 10-minute overtimes to send it to penalties.

In other action Sunday, Vermont beat Binghamton 1-0 to win the America East tournament, LIU Brooklyn topped St. Francis PA on penalties to win the Northeast Conference, Hartwick beat Georgia State 3-0 for the Sun Belt crown, Winthrop won the Big South on penalties after a scoreless draw with High Point, Lehigh took the Patriot League title, FIU beat Marshall 1-0 to win Conference USA, Furman topped ETSU 1-0 to win the Southern, Hoftsra won the Colonial Athletic with a 2-0 win over Delaware and Drake took home the Missouri Valley trophy with a 1-0 win over SIU Edwardsville.

SMU, South Florida, Kentucky and South Carolina knocked out of conference semis
2015 College Soccer Regular Season and Tournament Champions

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Subscribe to Blog via Email