Patrick Mullins repeats as MAC Hermann Trophy winner

MAC Hermann Trophy

IMG_0535Patrick Mullins became the first men’s soccer player to be named player of the year in back to back seasons since 1996 on Friday night when the Missouri Athletic Club presented him with the trophy for most outstanding college soccer player.

Mullins, who led Division 1 in scoring and led the Terps to the championship game last month, joined an elite club by beating out Notre Dame senior Harrison Shipp and UCLA junior Leo Stolz for the award. Only three others have repeated as winners since the Heisman Trophy of soccer was established in 1967.

Virginia midfielder Mike Fisher won the award in 1995 and 1996. St. Louis midfielder Al Trost won the award in 1969 and 1970 and Billikens forward Mike Seerey won the award in 1971 and 1972 (Dan Counce made it five straight for St. Louis in 1973).

A New Orleans native, Mullins finished his career with 47 goals, including 19 in his final season in College Park. He edged Shipp out in voting while Stolz, a Munich, Germany, native who spurned a Generation adidas deal to return for his senior season much like Mullins did a year ago finished third.

Mullins has already signed a deal with Major League Soccer and is expected to be selected early in the SuperDraft on Jan. 16. Shipp signed a Homegrown Player contract with the Chicago Fire earlier this week.

The ACC sweeped the awards for the second straight year with Virginia junior midfielder Morgan Brian taking home the women’s award. She edged out 2012 winner Crystal Dunn from North Carolina.

Notre Dame senior Harrison Shipp signs with Chicago Fire
Indiana freshman Tommy Thompson first San Jose homegrown player

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Subscribe to Blog via Email