Finalists for MAC Hermann Trophy announced

MAC Hermann Trophy

The finalists for the award for most outstanding college soccer player were announced today and include UCLA midfielder Leo Stolz, Syracuse goalkeeper Alex Bono and North Carolina forward Andy Craven.

Stolz is the only finalist still competing in the NCAA tournament – his UCLA Bruins play Providence tonight in their first College Cup since  2011. A native of Munich, Germany, Stolz spent seven seasons playing in the youth ranks for 1860 Munich and played a season at George Mason before transferring to Westwood. Stolz was a finalist for the award last year, which Maryland forward Patrick Mullins won for the second straight year. He has nine goals and six assists this season to go with 15 goals and 19 assists in his first three years.

Craven, a fifth year senior from St. Simons Island, Georgia, scored 15 goals for the Tar Heels, one shy of his career total at North Carolina and College of Charleston prior to this season. He missed all of last season with an injury and bounced back to be one of the most prolific scorers in Division 1 – sharing the Division 1 scoring title with Neco Brett of Robert Morris and Cameron Porter of Princeton.

Bono, a junior from Baldwinsville, N.Y., registered 12 clean sheets and conceded only 12 goals in 21 matches for the Orange this season. He’s the first goalkeeper finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy since nomination process narrowed the finalists down to three in 2003.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual intercollegiate award administered by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, and presented annually at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. This year’s trophy presentation and banquet will take place Friday, Jan. 9, 2015.

UMBC, Providence, Virginia and UCLA advance to College Cup
Virginia bunkers in to capture 7th national title

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Subscribe to Blog via Email