Clemson’s Mike Noonan named Division 1 coach of the year


Clemson head coach Mike Noonan fell one game short of adding a national championship to his already successful coaching career, but that didn’t stop him from being named the division 1 national coach of the year by the NSCAA.

In his sixth year at the helm, Noonan led his team to a 17-3-4 record en route to the program’s first College Cup in 10 years. Noonan coached Brown for 15 seasons prior to taking over the Clemson program. He led the Bears to the NCAA Tournament 10 times in his tenure there while compiling a 160-77-31 record. He started his coaching career at Division III Wheaton and was the head coach at New Hampshire from 1991-1994.

Noonan leads a list of 24 head coaches and four assistants honored with the coach of the year distinction by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.

Wake Forest assistant Dane Brenner was named assistant coach of the year for men’s soccer. Pfeiffer coach Bob Reasso was the Division II coach of the year, Amherst coach Justin Serpone for Division III and Rio Grande coach Scott Morrissey was named NAIA coach of the year.

Click here for the list of all the coaches of the year.

UNC Wilmington captain signs with Wilmington Hammerheads
Chicago Fire sign two seniors out of Big 10 to homegrown deals

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Subscribe to Blog via Email