2016 MAC Hermann Watch List Released

MAC Hermann Trophy

Twenty-eight players have been named to the men’s watch list for the annual award given to the most outstanding college soccer player.

UCLA forward Abu Danladi, SMU forward Mauro Cichero, Akron midfielder Adam Najem, Indiana midfielder Tanner Thompson, Rutgers forward Jason Wright and UC Santa Barbara forward Nick DePuy are the names that jump out immediately in the list, which also includes players like Seattle University’s David Olsen, South Florida forward Nazeem Bartman and Providence big man Mac Steeves.

Seven of the players have ties to Major League Soccer academies: Seattle defender Kyle Bjornethun (Seattle Sounders), Seattle forward David Olsen (Seattle Sounders), Indiana defender Grant Lillard (Chicago Fire), UCLA midfielder Jose Hernandez (Real Salt Lake), Akron midfielder Adam Najem (New York Red Bulls), Boston midfielder Anthony Viteri (New York Red Bulls) and Boston forward Felix DeBona (New England Revolution).

Monmouth midfielder Anderson Asiedu and Hernandez are the only sophomores in the group, which includes eight juniors (Lillard, Cichero, Danladi, Wright, Olsen, Wyatt Omsberg, Danny Musovski and Afonso Pinheiro).

Stanford star Jordan Morris won the award last year as a junior, beating out Creighton junior Fabian Herbers. Leo Stolz won it in 2014 and Patrick Mullins repeated in 2013.

The watchlist for the women’s award was also released on Wednesday. Click here for the complete list.

NameClassPos.CollegeHometownYouth Club
Kyle BjornethunSr.DSeattleSnohomish, Wash.Seattle Sounders
Francis De VriesSr.DSaint Francis (Pa.)Christchurch, New ZealandCanterbury United
Reagan DunkSr.DDenverDallas, TexasSolar Chelsea
Austin LedbetterSr.DSIU-EdwardsvilleSt. Charles, Mo.St. Louis Scott Gallagher
Grant LillardJr.DIndianaHinsdale, Ill.Chicago Fire
Wyatt OmsbergJr.DDartmouthScarborough, MainePortland Phoenix
Jordan WilsonSr.DKentuckyAuchterarder, ScotlandGlasgow Rangers FC
Anderson AsieduSo.MMonmouthDorma Ahenkro, GhanaPDA
Mauro CicheroJr.MSMUNorman, Okla.Valencia FC
Danny DeakinSr.MSouth CarolinaSheffield, EnglandSheffield United
Jose HernandezSo.MUCLAMexico City, MexicoReal Salt Lake
Zeiko LewisSr.MBoston CollegePembroke, BermudaDandy Town Hornets
Adam NajemSr.MAkronClifton, N.J.New York Red Bulls
Mueng SundaySr.MDrakeCoralville, IowaEastern Iowa United SC
Anthony ViteriSr.MBoston UniversityFlushing, N.Y.New York Red Bulls
Chris WehanSr.MNew MexicoLaguna Niguel, Calif.United FC
Chris WingateSr.MNew HampshireHovik, NorwayBaerum SK
Nazeem BartmanSr.FSouth FloridaCape Town, South AfricaForce Football Club
Abu DanladiJr.FUCLATakoradi, GhanaSanta Barbara SC
Felix DeBonaSr.FBoston UniversitySomerville, Mass.New England Revolution
Guillermo DelgadoSr.FDelawareTres Cantos, Spain
Nick DePuySr.FUC Santa BarbaraIrvine, Calif.
Danny MusovskiJr.FUNLVHenderson, Nev.Las Vegas Sports Academy
David OlsenJr.FSeattleAuburn, Wash.Seattle Sounders
Afonso PinheiroJr.FAlbanySao Paulo, Brazil
Mac SteevesSr.FProvidenceNeedham, Mass.FC Bolts
Tanner ThompsonSr.FIndianaGranite Bay, Calif.
Jason WrightJr.FRutgersKingston, Jamaica
U.S. Development Academy championship features future collegians
Bradley Farias, other collegians playing for U19 title

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Subscribe to Blog via Email